Cauliflower Fried Rice

Cauliflower Fried Rice
1 head cauliflower
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon minced ginger
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 carrots, diced (about 1 cup)
1/2 cup peas, fresh or frozen
4 green onions, thinly sliced
2 to 3 tablespoons soy sauce
Cut the cauliflower into florets, discarding the tough inner core. Working in batches, pulse the cauliflower in a food processor until it breaks down into rice-sized pieces. You should have 5 to 6 cups of cauliflower “rice.”

Place the pan over medium-high heat, add tallow or coconut oil. Whisk the eggs and pour them into the skillet. Quickly scramble the eggs or make an omelet. Transfer the eggs to a cutting board and roughly chop into pieces.

Wipe the skillet clean and warm 1 tablespoon of tallow or coconut oil over medium-high heat. Add the ginger and garlic, and sauté until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in the carrots and sauté until crisp-tender, 2 minutes. Stir in the peas, and the cauliflower “rice” into the pan, mixing the ingredients thoroughly.Lower the heat to medium, cover the pan, and cook until the cauliflower is tender, 5 to 8 minutes.

Uncover and stir in the eggs, green onions, and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Taste and add more soy sauce to taste. Serve immediately.

Leftovers will keep refrigerated for about a week.

About Anna K Amendolare

Anna, of aka design, is a web designer and digital marketer. She contributes recipes via homeharv.wordpress.com, manages all of the email marketing for HH, and serves as webmaster for Hometown Harvest. When she is not in front of her computer, she enjoys baking, craft beer, and spinning & cycling to burn off those calories.

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Fried Rice

  1. So good! I didn’t use the egg. A friend posted this recipe on FB yesterday and I immediately commented that I wanted the recipe because I had a big head of cauliflower from the farmers market last weekend that I needed to use. Now when I go to the farmers market today I’m going to buy another one so I can make this again. I will probably use a little more garlic and ginger than the recipe calls for when I make it again.

  2. I tried to pull one over on my husband, but he figured out the secret ingredient. Still, the flavor and texture were spot-on. I will definitely make this again. Next time, I’d add onion and maybe shrimp.

Leave a Reply

